She Was All In and She Didn’t Have a Big But

And He sat down opposite the treasury and watched the people putting money into the offering box. Many rich people put in large sums. And a poor widow came and put in two small copper coins, which make a penny. And He called his disciples to him and said to them,“Truly, I say to you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the offering box. For they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, all she had to live on.”Mark 12: 44 ESV

I am notorious for only giving God my left overs. I don’t mean to. I don’t want to. But I do because I am full of excuses. This is what I typically sound like, “I want to do more. I want to be involved, but…

I just don’t have the time.

My job keeps me busy.

The kids are sick.

I am exhausted from working late.

I don’t fit in there.

The kids have a lot of homework to get done.

That’s to early for me.

I don’t feel good.

I just can’t spare the money.

I got bills to pay.

I think you get the picture. Heck, you can probably relate to many of these. You’ve probably said them a time or two.

Over the last few weeks at our church we have been going through a series called “All In.” The main point of the series was about choosing between being a fan of Christ or a follower. Most of us would fall under the fan category. We are not sold out to Jesus. We are consumer Christian. We claim the name, go to church, get what we can out of the sermon, and then we go home until next Sunday. We DO NOT listen and follow the words of Jesus when He said.

 And he said to all, “If anyone would come after Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow Me. Luke 9:23 ESV

God has called us to give our lives to Him but we just give Him a small piece. As a matter of fact, we give Him the smallest piece we can spare. We give Him out of our abundance. “What do you mean?” Look at the story of the widow. Many people that day gave to the offering but Jesus said that this widow gave more. “But the rich people gave “large sums?” That is correct but they gave what they could spare. It didn’t hurt them to give what they did. They didn’t go home and wonder to themselves “How are we going to pay our bills?” They gave out of their abundance, their extra. But, this widow. She was awesome. Scripture says she put in two small coins that equaled about a penny, but Jesus said she gave more because she gave all she had. She wasn’t worried about it. She trusted God to take care of her needs. She was all in and she didn’t have a big but.

Its not just about money. Matter of fact, money is at the bottom of the list. Its also about time, talents, and trust. God wants you to trust Him with everything you have and in return He will supply your needs.

Where do you stand? How big is your but? Don’t let the cross around your neck be the only cross you pick up today. Don’t die to yourself on Sunday and live for yourself the rest of the week. Jesus gave you His life. Don’t just give Him your extra.

If you want to see what a big but looks like, check out this video Big But.

Leave a Reply

